

Minutes of the Annual Meeting of **EAST BEDLINGTON PARISH COUNCIL** held at 6pm, 18 May 2021 at East Bedlington Community Centre

PRESENT:

In attendance: Ron Thornton – Clerk, Jenny Tindale – Deputy Clerk, County Councillor Alex Wallace (Sleekburn Ward) and 5 members of the public.

		ACTION
CO1/21	APOLOGIES	
	There were no apologies.	
CO2/21	DISCLOSURES OF INTERESTS & REQUESTS FOR DISPENSATION	
	There were no disclosures.	
CO3/21	ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN	
	A nomination was made for Councillor Keith Grimes by Councillor Allan Stewart and seconded by Councillor Rebecca Wilczek a further nomination was made by Councillor Keith Scantlebury for Councillor Bill Crosby seconded by Councillor Helen Bradford. A named ballot was held. Ballot Results Councillor Grimes, supported by Councillors, Allan Stewart, Paul Hedley, Rebecca Wilczek, Keith Grimes and John Batey (5 votes)	
	Councillor Crosby supported by Councillors Dawn Crosby, Jayne Todd, Alan Stovell, Helen Bradford, Bill Crosby and Keith Scantlebury (6 votes)	

	RESOLVED: That Councillor Bill Crosby be elected as Chairman for the term 2021/2022	
CO4/20	TO RECEIVE THE CHAIRMANS DECLARATION OF ACCEPTANCECouncillor Crosby formally accepted the Chair and thanked fellow membersfor their support. He pledged to work towards delivering the best possibleoutcome for the residents of East Bedlington.RESOLVED:That the declaration of acceptance be noted	
CO5/20	ELECTION OF VICE CHAIR A nomination had been received for Councillor Allan Stewart by Councillor Helen Bradford which was seconded by Councillor Keith Scantlebury. A further nomination for Councillor Keith Grimes was made by Councillor Rebecca Wilczek, seconded by Councillor Paul Hedley. A ballot was held, Result Councillor Stewart 6 votes Councillor Grimes 5 votes RESOLVED: That Councillor Allan Stewart be elected as Vice Chair for the term 2021/2022	
CO6/21	APPOINTMENT OF REPRESENTATIVES TO OUTSIDE BODIES RESOLVED: That; (I) Councillor Crosby be appointed as representative to Northumberland Association of Local Councils (II) Councillors Wilczek and Scantlebury, the Clerk and Deputy Clerk be appointed to the Board of Trustees of East Bedlington Community Centre (III) Councillor John Batey be appointed as the representative on the Blyth Offshore Demonstrator Wind Farm Community Benefit Fund.	
C07/21	ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN & MEMBERS OF STAFFING COMMITTEE It was confirmed that the Chairman and Vice Chairman will act as ex-officio on this and all committees. RESOLVED: That; (i) Councillor Helen Bradford, Paul Hedley and Councillor Keith Grimes appointed as members of the Staffing Committee (ii) That Councillor Helen Bradford be appointed as Chairman of Staffing Committee for the term 2021/2022	

CO8/21	TO APPOINT WORKING GROUPS	
	RESOLVED: That;	
	 a) Services Working Group (i) All Councillors be members of the Working Group (ii) That Councillor John Batey appointed as Chairman of the Working Group for the term 2021/2022 (iii) That a Vice-Chairman be appointed at the first meeting of the working group 	
	 b) Finance & General Purposes Working Group (i) All Councillors be members of the Working Group (ii) That Councillor Allan Stewart be appointed as Chairman of the Working Group for the term 2021/2022. (iii) That a Vice-Chairman be appointed at the first meeting of the Working Group. 	
CO9/21	RESOLUTIONS	
	Members discussed the proposed schedule of Parish Council Meeting. It was proposed that all meetings of the Council be amended to start at 6.30pm to allow participation of all members.	
	It was further agreed to commence the Annual Assembly at 6pm to allow the business of the Parish Meeting following to be conducted.	
	RESOLVED:	
	That;	
	(i) The schedule of meetings be approved.	
	(ii) All Parish Meetings commence at 6.30pm.	

Chairmans signature

Date: