EAST BEDLINGTON PARISH COUNCIL

MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL PARISH MEETING HELD ON 2 MAY 2023 AT EAST BEDLINGTON COMMUNITY CENTRE

PRESENT:Councillors Keith Grimes (Chairman), Bill Crosby, Dawn Crosby,
Rebecca Wilczek, Paul Hedley, Allan Stewart, Keith Scantlebury, Grant Ward,
John Batey (Part)

IN ATTENDANCE: Ron Thornton (Clerk), Jenny Tindale (Deputy Clerk) 4 Members of the Public

1

Г

APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE
The Chairman opened the meeting and apologies were noted from Councillor Jayne Todd – Prior engagement.
RESOLVED:
That the apologies be accepted. DISCLOSURES OF INTERESTS & REQUESTS FOR DISPENSATION
There were no disclosures of requests for dispensation.
ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN OF THE COUNCIL 2023/2024 SO12a
A nomination was made for Councillor Keith Grimes by Councillor Dawn Crosby and seconded by Councillor Rebecca Wilczek. There were no other nominations. A vote was taken with 7 votes in favour and 1 vote against.
RESOLVED:
That Councillor Keith Grimes be elected as Chairman for the term 2023/2024
TO RECEIVE THE CHAIRMANS ACCEPTANCE OF OFFICE SO12b
Councillor Grimes formally accepted the Chair and duly signed acceptance of office. RESOLVED:
That the declaration of acceptance be noted.
ELECTION OF VICE CHAIR SO12e
A nomination was made for Councillor John Batey by Councillor Allan Stewart and
seconded by Councillor Rebecca Wilczek.
RESOLVED:
That Councillor Batey be duly elected as Vice Chair for the term 2023/2024.

CO06/23	MINUTES OF THE PREVIOUS ANNUAL MEETING		
	The minutes of the Annual Meeting held on 3 May 2022 were noted as previously		
0007/00	agreed Minute CO37/22 July 22 refers		
CO07/23	APPOINTMENT OF REPRESENTATIVES TO OUTSIDE BODIES SO12f		
	(i) Councillor Grimes be appointed at representative to Northumberland Association of Local Councils		
	 (ii) Councillors Dawn Crosby, Keith Scantlebury were nominated in a majority vote in addition to the Clerk and Deputy Clerk. 		
	(iii) Councillor Batey be appointed as the representative on the Blyth Offshore Demonstrator Wind Farm Community Benefit Fund.		
CO08/23	ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN & MEMBERS OF STAFFING COMMITTEE		
	It was confirmed that the Chairman and Vice Chairman will act as ex-officio on this and all committees.		
	RESOLVED: That;		
	(i) Councillors Grant Ward, Dawn Crosby and Paul Hedley be appointed as members of the Staffing Committee.		
	(ii) Councillor Grant Ward be appointed as Chairman of Staffing Committee for the term 2023/2024		
CO009/23	TO APPOINT WORKING GROUPS		
	RESOLVED: That; a) Services Working Group (i) All Councillors be members of the Working Group		
	(ii)That Councillor John Batey appointed by a majority vote as Chairman of the Working Group for the term 2023/2024		
	(iii) A Vice-Chairman be appointed at the first meeting of the working group		
	 b) Finance & General Purposes Working Group (i) All Councillors be members of the Working Group (ii) Councillor Allan Stewart be appointed as Chairman of the Working Group for the term 2023/2024. (iii) A Vice-Chairman be appointed at the first meeting of the Working Group. 		
	c) Planning & Economic Regeneration Working Group (i) All Councillors be members of the Working Group.		
	 (ii) Councillor Keith Grimes be appointed Chairman of the Working Group for the term 2023/2024 		
	(iii) A Vice-Chairman be appointed at the first meeting of the Working Group.		
	d) Events Working Group		
	(i) All Councillors be members of the Working Group.		
	(ii) Councillor Dawn Crosby be appointed as Chair for the term 2023/2024.		
	(iii) A vice-chairman be appointed at the first meeting of the working group.		

	Councillor Batey joined the meeting at this point and apologies for lateness		
CO10/23	RESOLUTIONS		
	a) To approve the Schedule of Meetings 2023/2024		
	RESOLVED:		
	(I) That the Schedule of Full Council Meetings for 2023/2024 be agreed.		
	(II) That the Chairman and the Deputy Clerk align remaining working group		
	meetings for 2023/2024 to be presented to next Full Council Meeting.		
	Meeting ended at 18:15		
	Meeting ended at 18:15		

Signed	Date:

Chairman